Cayman Islands profile

Head of state: Queen Elizabeth II, represented by a governor

Premier: Alden McLaughlin

Alden McLaughlin, from the People's Progressive Movement (PPM), was appointed as premier following elections in May 2013.

The PPM won 9 of the 18 seats in the Legislative Assembly, one short of a majority. It gained a majority when an ex-premier, Juliana O'Connor-Connolly, joined the party and accepted the post of speaker.

Ms O'Connor-Connolly had served as premier since December 2012, when her predecessor McKeeva Bush from the United Democratic Party was arrested on suspicion of corruption.

Parliament passed a vote of no confidence in Mr Bush after he refused to resign, effectively removing him from office. A court cleared Mr Bush of all charges in 2014.

More on This Story

More Latin America & Caribbean stories